Gift from God

An expectant mother is always happy, excited and too nervous on the day when they have to give birth.. it is always mixed emotions.. but mine is different..

Our son always tells us his dream.. his dream of becoming a “kuya” (an elder brother).. “taas po ng pangarap di ba?”..hehehe..that’s why when he was 5 yrs old, we grant his dream.. I got pregnant with our second child..

Last July 16, 2007 I was admitted to De La Salle University Medical Center (UMC) not because I will gave birth.. but why? (you might ask).. well, that is because I am hard headed.. prior to that date, I was advised by my doctor to take rest..bed rest.. actually, I followed her advice, I was bed rest for 10 days..and she told me to have another series of bedrest.. that is, from july 15 until I gave birth..

you might be wondering why I am advised by my doctor to do that.. during that period of my pregnancy, I am suffering from high blood pressure..my BP would reach as high as 160/100 compared to my normal and previous BP(on my first child) which is only 90/70..

but for me, I could still manage it.. so, I asked her to give me a medical certificate stating that I could go back to work.. hesistantly, she still manage to give me but always reminding me that it is still best for me to stay home and bed rest.

so, early morning I go to work.. i felt okay, but on my travel going home, I have a very different feeling.. my abdomen is too heavy, its like I would pee and how I wish I would be home soon.. finally, I reached our house, and I bleed.. I am afraid, but i should not.. I should be strong.. I keep on telling myself, that will be fine.. my husband is too nervous and keep on telling me i shouldn’t go to work..I should be at home.. I am so hard headed.. why I didn’t listen to him.. etc..etc..etc..

We went to a nearest maternity lying in to ask for assistance, but they told us, that we should go to our doctor..since I have a doctor, and she can’t admit me. So we went to the hospital where my doctor is, but she advised us to go to UMC so that whatever happens to me, that hospital could accomodate my needs since it has complete facilities like incubator and other machines needed just in case.

July 16, I was admitted to that hospital..I have a bedside medical intern, doctors, and my new OB(bestfriend of my real OB).. they monitor everything on me since the night I was admitted.. I also suffered from so many injections ..high dosage of magnissium sulfate (used to prevent me from seizure).. I have almost 12 injections on my two shoulders, and ass.. and everytime I was injected with that drug.. oh my.. it’s like hell.. too hot to the point that I need extra air..I can’t breath (take note: the aircon is on its lowest degree)..while i am feeling hot, all of the people around me are chilled. imagine that? and a lot more of sufferings..

I managed everything with God’s help.. I keep on praying..we keep on praying that everything will be fine.. that eventually, I would go home and wait for 2 more months before delivery.

On the afternoon of July 19, my new OB told us that I could go home and continue bed rest until I gave birth.. Thanks God! I promised to my self, I will now be obedient.. I would not be stubborn.. even though it kills me..the thought of and imagining myself doing nothing again at home, just laying myself on bed.. counting the lizards on the ceiling.. watching movies..watching tv programs.. ah… too boring..

around 9pm on that day, I asked my husband to assist me coz i want to pee.. unfortunately, I was bleeding again.. oh my.. what happened?.. I just prayed “Lord, you know our desire.. I want to have my baby delivered normal on its due date..but Lord, if this is your will, let it be done..”

9:30pm my new OB arrived and told us that we have to terminate my pregnancy.. (what??? ) she told us that we should undergo emergency ceasarean section.. because I am now suffering from pre eclampsia and Abruptio placentae.. well, I don’t understand what she means about those terms..I am an I.T. professional anyway and what I understand, they need to send me to emergency room and need my baby out..

again, while they were pushing my bed to emergency room, I keep on praying.. asking God to be with me.. asking him to give me more strength.. asking him that my baby will be saved.. and that nothing would happen to both of us..

10pm, she was born.. two years ago.. a gift from god was born..
she was 1.25kg that time.. I wasn’t able to see her immediately, I have to go to Neo-natal Intensive Care Unite.

2 responses to “Gift from God

  1. I always believe in this saying ” Depend on God and You’LL find Him dependable” you intrusted God your life and your clear desire.. Your faith and bravery was well manage in times of trials. you never gave up… instead you pray for your safety and your baby’s survival.

    God is always behind us.. He will not forsake us in times like this.

Leave a comment